FREE PATTERN- Arrow drops baby quilt

I first made this little Arrow drops baby quilt when I was working with my Henna fabrics and the concept has since evolved. It uses a method I dreamed up to piece the triangles completely randomly and without cutting lots of pieces out. Its quite clever if I do say so myself – and I do!

Arrow drops dark

Its a very flexible pattern that uses just strips as a base. You can change the size of the quilt by simply adding more strips or making them longer. You could even use a different shape instead of a triangle like a square or a trapezoid.

Arrow drops light

Its very much a beginner project and with just a little experience you will comfortably complete the quilt top in few hours. I chose a solid for the background but you could use low volume prints or make each strip a different colour.

Arrow drops quilting

The quilting on mine is perhaps a little complicated for a beginner but that’s only because I love quilting best! Something simpler would work fine.

I am teaching a class on the method on 8th March at Folly fabrics. I have reduced the concept down to a quilted cushion to fit into the 3 hours but the method is the same. The class is fully booked but I have written the pattern up and am posting it as a freebie if you would like to have a go. You can download it right here

Arrow drops pattern

3 thoughts on “FREE PATTERN- Arrow drops baby quilt

  1. Pingback: My first workshop – Yikes! |

  2. Hi Beth,

    Thank you so much for posting this free pattern. I have cut out my triangles, but I’m a bit confused, since they seem to be much bigger than the 3 1/2″ strips for the background. I cut out using the fainter outline (I assume with seam allowance) but even if I cut on the dark line my triangles are still much bigger than the strip I am adding to.

    Did you intend them to be bigger and cut down after sewing, or am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks again,
    Judi

    • Hi Judi. Sorry for the delayed reply. It is right that the triangles are a little larger than the strips. You will find that they shrink when the seam allowances are taken off as they are sewn into the strips. Get back to me if you are still struggling x

Leave a Reply

